Bangkok: Sab x 2 Pratunam Noodles | Phetchaburi

Over hyped.

There is really nothing extraordinary about this famous wanton noodles. Many Singaporeans flock to this air-conditioned restaurant opposite Platinum Fashion Mall, and return home raving about it. Despite being a stone’s throw away from my second hotel in a 4-day’s stay in Bangkok, I only visited once and thought it was more than enough.

There’s no doubt about it. Many Singaporeans, particularly us Gen-Yers and older Gen-Xers, because of the nostalgia that it evokes. The millenials however, might not understand what the hype is all about, and may in fact, bill this as rather unhealthy.

Before the turn of the century, hawker food across Singapore had a rustic sensibility (a.k.a. everything cooked with pork lard and/or lard oil). The fragrance and aroma of lard infused dishes heightened the sense of umami. Then in 1999, the Nipah virus struck, and forever changed the way Singaporeans consumed pork and other meats. We learned about the importance of food storage. Over time, we learned that our new pork supply source, Australia, boasted leaner and less flavorful meats. We had to get used to that new normal. Just as well, there was a growing consciousness towards healthy eating.

When I visited at about lunchtime, it was barely packed. It was, after all, a Thursday, and Bangkok from Monday to Thursday is generally not as infested with Singaporeans as the weekends. Thanks to my convincing dark skin, I’m naturally spoken to in Thai before my clear inability to understand switches the language of communication to English.

The portion noodles that arrived was obviously, too large for the bowl it was placed in. I had to convince myself a bit that I wasn’t actually being served someone’s leftovers, because it really felt like it.

Springy noodles, roast pork and barely passable wonton, this reminded me a little of those you’d find in the more decent spots in Singapore. However, what really knocked this out of the park was the fact that the noodles had no sauce, and was lubricated in lard oil. In many ways, the noodles reminds me of those sesame oil noodles you get at Union Farm Eating House (which is rated 1-star on HungryGoWhere specifically for its oiliness…go figure).

Obviously it wasn’t filling by any means and I didn’t want to stomach another bowl of oily noodles, so I decided to order a bowl of wanton soup. It wasn’t good by any means, really. The dumpling is definitely not this eatery’s strongest suit.

I’ll definitely return to Bangkok, but I don’t think I’ll ever come back here. What a waste of money for meaninglessly unhealthy food. I’d rather spend the money to savor Bangkok’s street food.

And yes, I plagiarized Daniel Food Diary’s structure…just to offer another perspective for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

