Forty Hands | Yong Siak Street, Tiong Bahru

It’s seriously my first time here.

Believe it or not, I’ve never been to Forty Hands, which is an absolutely blasphemy for anyone who’s remotely into cafes. I was in the area, and thought I’d do a bit of cafe-hopping, but when you’re just one, a coffee and a cake can be really filling. Honest.

Located in the hipster Tiong Bahru district, Forty Hands is a Melbourne-style cafe which sells fair-trade coffee and enough savouries to warrant a few visits. Everybody raves about Forty Hands, and rightly so, the cafe has a very artsy, cool atmosphere that Starbucks can scarcely hope to replicate. A lot of it has to do with the people – a mix of Singaporeans and enlightened, organic conscious individuals who are mindful of their carbon footprint. Plus, the music is chill-out, house, which really adds to the whole cosmopolitan “outside-of-Singapore” vibe that is so commonly found in Europe, North Asia and the like.

The cafe’s name stems from the fact that twenty pairs of hands are involved in the production of coffee from the fields to the barista. The coffee beans are roasted by Common Man Coffee Roasters, a blend that is general enough to be accepted by anyone. In short, this is exactly like Nescafe, except that the blends you’re drinking will keep the food chain sustainable. I had already eaten my lunch at Ayam Penyet Ria before, so this was going to be my chill-out and dessert.

The Flat White, while not as smooth as Oz Specialty Cafe (which was reborn into Pacmara), was fair enough and probably better than many other coffees I’ve tried. I’m not a coffee connoisseur by any means, and for me, a good coffee is one that has the right balance of coffee and milk, and is smooth enough on the palette. While I didn’t like the initial taste of it, it did its job in most aspects.

It’s getting late at night, so I’m going to keep this short. But I would really love to come back and try the meals.

Oh, I forgot the Sticky Toffee Pudding with Ice Cream. It was a little forgettable, to be honest, and not as sticky as I’d have liked it to be.

Leave a Reply

