Bistrot du Levin | Sin Ming

One thing I really missed from my long, unintended sabbatical in 2013 was the cooking.

I won’t lie: it came out of desperation, seeing the available balances dropping to dangerously low levels, and wondering how to conserve this dwindling resource. My father would buy food, and sometimes, he didn’t end up cooking them. So, one day, when going out to some swanky new place everyday wasn’t an option anymore, I headed to the kitchen and beganĀ exploring. And explore I did, and gradually, I came to enjoy the search of it all – creating something from scratch, and feeling proud, because you didn’t think you had it in you. It was nice.

Today however, I’ve got a job, a life, and I’m barely free enough to recall that I still have friends. You get so caught up in the hustle and bustle that you earn the simple, albeit harder life. So, instead of meeting friends, or letting my parents buy home dinner, I decided I’d prepare one myself.

As always, it’s all about eating clean and fresh.

Salmon:

1. Wash the salmon, and rub it dry with paper towels.

2. Rub the entire fish with salt and pepper (I used both black and white pepper), squeeze a bit of lemon juice over the fish.

3. Pan fry the fish, skin side down until the skin is golden brown and crispy looking. Once you’re done, remove the fish no matter how done (or not done) the fish is.

4. Steam the fish. Toss in one or two slices of ginger. It’s cooked when you can poke all the way through.

5. Remove the excess liquid, and leave it aside.

6. Pour a bit of cooking oil into a pan, leave it until it’s nearly smoking. Once at that level, pour into a small bowl of minced garlic, salt, pepper, Japanese soy sauce and red cut chili.

7. Pour the entire sauce over the fish and serve.

Asparagus:

Because it’s just the Asian asparagus, and I like to have my vegetables nearly bland, I merely steamed it with salt, pepper and butter.

One thought on “Bistrot du Levin | Sin Ming

  1. i actually find asian asparagus a bit of a mixed bag (literally) as it can be very green and veiny! your ownself-dinner (gotta love colloquial speak) looks a little like what I’d do too – but sub the asparagus for some simply-roasted cauli. good stuff!

    I miss cooking – there’s such a calm to it.

Leave a Reply

