Sukothai Kitchen | Blk 408, Ang Mo Kio

Let’s venture to the more generic part of Ang Mo Kio: Ang Mo Kio East.

I woke up this morning craving, of all things, for Pho Hanoi at Serangoon North. I’ll admit: I wasn’t blown away during my last visit, although the chicken was heavenly, but I haven’t been working out in a while. I have been more or less ill ever since I came back from Bali, burning up a horrific fever the moment I breathed the Lee Hsien Loong-approved air, and afflicted by a relentless dry cough for the weeks after. It wasn’t a pretty sight. So, barely a day or two since my “recovery”, I was craving for something healthy to “make up” for the lack in exercise.

However, day after day after day after day of porridge can take its toll. And while Vietnamese seemed attractive, I yearned for the spice of life. And what better injection of spice than Thai food? So, it brought me to Sukothai Kitchen.

Just like Lau Wang Claypot Delights, Sukothai Kitchen too, has received a lot of food blogger attention, and positive ones at that. Like many of you, I too, read food blogs for inspiration for places to eat when I can’t think of a place to go. But nothing turns me off from a food blog faster than the words, “media tasting” or any word association indicating that the blogger’s meal was on the charity and generosity of the restaurant. Across the spectrum from the grassroots bloggers to the all-encompassing state media, the industry in Singapore in general, has taken a beating in terms of credibility and editorial integrity.

So, why Sukothai Kitchen? Well, it was either this or my other option this afternoon, Next Door Deli.

Sukothai Kitchen reminds me of one of those random Thai-manned hole-in-the-wall eateries scattered across Ubi. Sure, the chefs at those eateries are Thai, the staff are Thai and everybody’s Thai, which technically makes the food Thai. The only problem is that the Thai chefs in question, is that they are either not great cooks to begin with, or their home recipe isn’t what Singaporeans generally perceive to be authentic Thai food.

I’m just one person, but for the sake of dedication, I dedicated to ordering the set (consisting of a drink, main of rice or noodles and a soup or curry) to have a better grasp of what the standard is like.

While the Phad Thai was definitely better than a lot that I’ve tried across Singapore, the Tom Yam Soup and Ice Milk Tea were completely off. The broth seemed very “herbal”, but it lacked any hint of lemongrass and spice. The tea was…let’s say your neighborhood Mainland Chinese drink stall aunty can do a better job.

Ice Milk Tea

Tom Yam Soup

Phad Thai

Leave a Reply

