River South (Hoe Nam) Prawn Noodles | Tai Thong Crescent, Potong Pasir

Some say this is the best prawn noodles in Singapore. What do you think?

In this modern day of “too much information”, we become very subsceptible to catch words and phrases like “one of the best”, “how to lose a guy in 10 days” and “top 3 things to do in Tokyo before you die”. It’s unbelievable how our minds are triggered by such words – they needn’t be bold or flashing but subconsciously, we’d still pick it out in the sea of alphabets. Such definitive statements work because we’re hardwired to want the best, the ultimate…we want the prettiest girl, the most handsome guy, and although it begins from our primal instincts, it transcends into everything else.

A similar proclamation brought River South (Hoe Nam) Prawn Noodles to my attention. Dubbed “easily one of the best prawn noodles in Singapore”, the idea of it grew inside my mind and fested until my curiosity got the better of me. Even though I’ve had more than my fair share of good prawn noodles, I needed this.

There is literally, a million and one ways to have your prawn noodles. From the standard works of “prawn”, “prawn and pork ribs”, “prawn and pig tail” and “pork ribs and pig tails”, it expands to include other innards, better quality prawns and even scallops and abalone for good measure. It took me a while to take it all in, before ordering my classic favorite prawn and pig tail soup with thick vermiceli. I like a dose of pig fat (or the more politically correct term these days, “collagen” now and then.

Having eaten it, I would advise you to “play around” with the prawns, a.k.a. smash the heads and allow the contents to be absorbed by the broth, and just let it sit there for a while. Go play Candy Crush or Flappy Bird or something, or pop by to the opposite coffee shop where they allegedly sell amazing ngoh hiang. In the beginning, the broth begins very thin and unsophisticated. You get a tease of tonkotsu and ebi flavors, but it’s very muted. It’s only towards the end when, I suppose the broth has infused the sweetness of the prawn, then you get a hint of something amazing in the horizon. And before you’ve ejaculated with joy and had a chance to bask in the gastronomy and skill of this magnificent dish, you’ve finished the meal. It left me hanging…I wanted more, but I really hated how “thin” it began, and I really don’t know whether I’d want to have to deal with this initial awkward foreplay before the action starts.

Leave a Reply

