Place du Levin | Sin Ming

Here’s a quick lunch recipe you can try.

There was still quite a portion of ground beef left…when you’re cooking for one, you don’t use a lot. And the thought of stepping out in the hazy, hot and dry weather unappealing, I decided to embark on my second beef dish. This time, taking an Asian turn. Korean, to be more precise. I was scrolling through some recipes on the web, and found it surprisingly simple so I gave it a go.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ground beef

Ginger: Personally, I find that ginger is a wonderful ingredient for Asian cooking if you use it sparingly. Finely slice an insignificant amount of ginger, perhaps no longer than a 1cm in length.

Sugar: The recipe I took this from (I can’t remember where) suggests using brown sugar, but I only have white sugar. And that’s fine, also.

Soy sauce: There has been many Korean supermarkets across town, but really, you don’t really need a Korean brand one. Plus, I wouldn’t recommend buying Korean sauces such as olive oil, soy sauce or sesame oil. They’re quite bland, and therefore you’ve to use quite a lot to achieve your desired taste.

Sesame oil

Salt

Pepper

Garlic: Finely sliced

Directions:

Add ginger, salt, pepper, sesame oil, soy sauce and sugar into a small bowl and mix. Give it a whiff: it gives you a rough indication as to how your sauce is going to taste/smell like.

On a pan, fry the garlic, constantly stirring it until you see the first hints of a golden brown hue. Then, place the ground beef into the pan, beating down the chunks to ensure an even cooking.

Beef cooks really fast, so before you’ve got time to think, add the sauce and stir fry. Oh yes, keep your fire to medium high. But if you’re not sure what to do, a medium is fine.

The recipe from the web also offers stir-frying an egg, which they said would complement the Korean beef well. However, I decided to do a beansprouts and tofu thing instead.

Place the beef atop homecooked Japanese rice, add some kimchi by the side, serve the beansprouts, and voila! My Korean beef bowl served with a side of stir-fry beansprouts and beancurd. To finish, you could also grab a small portion of raw (but washed) golden mushrooms.

Thoughts:

Don’t get me wrong. This recipe was so simple that I was skeptical all the way about how “Korean” it would turn out, and surprised about how “Korean” it turned out. But I just wasn’t in that state of mind to really sit down and enjoy my lunch. I was all about keeping the preparation short, eating quickly before continuing my work on my portfolio (for my job applications as a fashion product developer, by the way).

Leave a Reply

