Lao San Kway Chap | Blk 232, Ang Mo Kio

There’s something about local hawker food that’s just…nice.

Despite skipping breakfast, I took quite a while before I actually got hungry for lunch. I considered cooking, but alas, it was getting kinda late, so I settled on something close by.

I tried Lao San Kway Chap before, back when I had just moved into Sin Ming and was eager to explore my foodie options in the neighborhood. Located at Blk 232 Ang Mo Kio, it was a brief 10 minute walk from my house located by Bishan – Ang Mo Kio Park.

I remember it like it was yesterday… I had read about a doctor, of all people, championing hawker food through his food-focused website. You know, putting those into words, on hindsight, it does sound quite morbid, doesn’t it? It does make you ponder, if only just for a moment, the doctor’s agenda…perhaps part of the Iluminati subtly trying to persuade the messes to indulge in unhealthy, greasy hawker food to foster the private practice industry. Moving on, Leslie Tay’s post on Lao San Kway Chap was the first I had read on his site, went on his recommendation, and subsequently questioned his credibility. Of course, I’ve since come to recognize that my taste and preferences are apparently, vastly different from his, when it comes to food.

I remembered the kway chap being quite unimpressive really, but when I went back this afternoon to dine, it was suddenly quite amazing, so maybe I was hungry…or they can be a tad inconsistent. What made it work was the “lu”, or Chinese Braising Sauce, which is at its simplest, a concoction of soy sauce and water. It was perfectly balanced between sweet, salty and savory, and the consistency recalls that of those black sauce pigs trotters you get at bak kut teh stalls. The innards were perfectly cooked, velvety without being too rubbery and tasteless. Complementing it is of course, the kway, or the flat rice flour. The broth was light, and was nicely textured with fresh-cut parsley and fried garlic bits and garlic oil that gave it a really lovely depth.

Leave a Reply

