Place du Levin | Sin Ming

At home, got bored. Ta-da!

Pork Patties with Salad and Sundried Tomatoes

I don’t usually blog about lunches that I prepare, because firstly, I take sooo long to cook that by the time I’m done, I’m so hungry that I give the bugger all to presentation and just dig in straight. Yes, literally, from the wok. Or secondly, the food sucks. I’m not a cook by any means – I watch a lot of TLC (Starhub Channel 427) and experiment a lot, but things don’t always turn out the way I want it.

I know you’re going, Hey, if you don’t know how to cook, you shouldn’t be writing about food.

And I’d go, Fashion bloggers don’t design clothes. Sure, there’s Elin Kling, and her local thing with H&M…

My point is that it’s unrelated. But over the years, being in the media, and watching shows like Ramsay’s The F Word… it really gives you a greater insight into what food is all about. Besides, for me, good food is not about fine dining, or Michelin stars. It’s really about what you feel when you taste. If it’s bad, it’s bad. There’s no two ways about it. If it’s good, it’s good. The difference, at least for me, is to try to portray and describe what’s good or what’s bad, to someone who hasn’t tasted what I’ve tasted, without going into absolutist terms or singular words and reused s**t like “melts in your mouth”.

Anyways, with dwindling or rather, no financial reserves left, I’m being forced to be creative. With some minced meat in the refrigerator, and some inspiration from BBC Good Food’s collections of recipes, I churned out a surprisingly lovely pork patty infused with shredded cheddar and diced enoki mushrooms, with salad and preserved sundried tomatoes, with a drizzle of a butter-parsley sauce. It’s quite honestly, one of my best.

Leave a Reply

