The Original Katong Spoon Laksa, Queensway Shopping Centre

You oughta know this isn’t the original Katong Laksa.

Actually, the debate over which store actually came up with the concept continues to rage on. Thanks to the European imperialists, Southeast Asia evolved from a generally Malay-based society into a multicultural one. One of the by-product of this collision of cultures were the cuisines – while some were spiced up by external influences, others were created, and one of the original fusion dish is the laksa. It’s a spicy noodle soup that combines the various components of Indonesian, Singaporean and Malaysian cuisine, and is split into two separate categories; the curry laksa and the assam laksa. Katong laksa is a variant of the former, and is characterized by its chopped up noodles, negating the need for forks or chopsticks since the entire dish can be served with a single spoon. But I’m not here to talk about Katong laksa.

If I’ve a craving, I need to satisfy it or life, or rather, food just lose all its meaning. Over the recent weeks, I must admit that I’ve been so engrossed with my own life that I found myself thrust onto the sidelines as I watched Keidi deal with a breakup. To be honest, in my heart, I prayed and hoped that work was vexing her, but the more I studied her Facebook status updates, the more I realized that the unthinkable had truly happened. As someone who considers both individuals friends, it came as a real shocker – I didn’t know how to react. I just froze… until yet another work deadline jolted me into action, diverting my attention. I was reminded of the dinners we’d have together – too many to count, but while it’s all a blur, I still, in a way, remember ever single one we had. One of our evenings was spent at Queensway, having curry chicken. But this isn’t that establishment. I didn’t care too much for specificity because by the time me and my colleagues had reached the complex, our stomachs were desperate for food, and we laid eyes on the first place we saw – here.

Granted, the chicken curry wasn’t anything special. I was quite willing to bet that these curries are sourced from the market, but it didn’t bother me. It was just pure comfort food, and I loved it.

Leave a Reply

