Baja Fresh, Hotel Rendezvous

Barely after my unsatisfying indulgence at Strictly Pancakes, I started to contemplate my next step, which was to be honest, pretty difficult since the Selegie-Bencoolen-Wilkie area is rather underrated. With a bit of work, this area could easily be a real lifestyle-entertainment destination. There were many options, but in the end, I decided to head for Baja Fresh at Rendevous Hotel. There were a lot of things I wanted to try, but I settled for Baja Fresh at Rendevous Hotel. Baja Fresh is an American fast food chain which sells Mexican food, because when you think of the United States of America, you think, “great Mexican food”. I already had my lunch, so I settled on something “lighter” to take away. So, I ordered the nachos with cheese.

This is how nachos really tastes like. It’s not the gooey, cheesy overload that many places serve, which was indeed welcomed. However, maybe it’s because I ordered takeout, microwaved it, and didn’t touch it for a few hours after I came home, but it was bland as it can be, which was really surprising considering the very generous amount of cheese, guacamole, pinto beans and diced tomato. My main sticky point isn’t so much the flavors, which I’m sure is my fault, but the price. At SGD 11.95, it’s a tad hard to swallow. If even Senor Buritto’s amazingly delicious nachos and buritos retailing at SGD 9 on average at Raffles City couldn’t survive, it’s hard to imagine Baja Fresh actually making it.

It’s hard to warrant a second comeback.

Leave a Reply

