British Polo Day, 2011

Earlier this week, I received a most peculiar email – an invite from a charming overseas-based media PR agency to attend the first ever British Polo Day in Singapore. I didn’t quite know what it was all about, and was intrigued to find out. However, it was closing week and that, is by far, the most important, so I casually just forwarded it to my bosses to let them know what’s happening. So, when they came back with an “it sounds interesting, you should go,” I took it as an approval and RSVPed for the event. Everybody I asked wasn’t interested. One cited one reason, another cited a different reason, and after facing so many roadblocks, you become frustrated, you know what I mean? Here’s one event you’re personally interested in going, something that you’re excited about but nobody’s getting it, you see… That’s kind of why I go overseas alone as well – I don’t want to put myself in a situation where I’m feeling unhappy because nobody understands what I’m feeling.

Now, some of you might say I love attending such events, but the truth couldn’t be further than that. There’s no “like” or “dislike” – all I see is opportunity – it allows me to experience, taste and try things that I could perhaps never do or afford under my own account. You also learn things if you open up your gaze. It’s true, the grass isn’t any greener on the other side, but if you never move, you’ll overgraze and soon, there’ll be no more grass.

British Polo Day when the two prestigious schools of the UK, Eton and Harrow took their regular bout of friendly competition a lil’ more global – and making it more of a circuit. This also makes the first time the event’s being brought to Singapore in conjunction with the Singapore’s Polo Club 125th anniversary, so by all counts, it’s a very momentous event. My day began at the Intercontinental Hotel where the media were treated to a light breakfast. One thing I love about Caucasians is that they’re overall more easily sociable creatures, so it took all too little time to get acquainted.

After breakfast, we were chauffeured to the Polo Club in a luxurious Jaguar.

At the Polo Club.

Of course, you come to the Polo Club for…

Let the games begin!

While the Eton vs. Harrow match was rather agreeable and overall, uninteresting, the British Army vs. Singapore Polo Club match in comparison, cheers, cries and support was a lot more enthusiastic. I’d love to have shot video footage of that match, but my battery had completely died already, which was a pity, because it was genuinely more exciting… Then again, it’s always interesting to see an unevenly matched game than an even one.

Determined not to be a heavy social alcoholic (I drank like what, at least 10 glasses of champagne, a glass of beer, two glasses of wine and no more than 10 glasses of iced water?), I left at 5.30pm which was approximately the time the last match ended. Then I headed straight home to shower and recharge my phone a little because later this evening, I was meeting Darren for dinner. You know, I used to think Korean cuisine was pretty unique, but after I came back from Beijing, you realize the subtle similarities and subtle differences in regional cuisines…

I absolutely lurrve the Seafood and Leek pancake here! I think it’s the best I’ve tried so far in Singapore.

Roasted pork belly. Mehs.

Wondering if I can get a decently tender and juicy barbecued pork belly ever in Singapore!

After that, we were quite at a loss as to what we oughta do after dinner, so I suggested we watch Tintin. I wasn’t too hopeful that we’d get a good seat, but by a stroke of pure luck, we were able to get very desirable centre-middle seats for the 3D IMAX version at Shaw Lido.

Directed by Steven Spielberg and produced by Peter Jackson, The Adventures of Tintin: Secret of the Unicorn is Hollywood’s attempt at kick starting a movie franchise which will hopefully recreate or even surpass the likes of Lord of The Rings and Harry Potter, and they’re hoping technology will help them win the game. The performance capture and CGI has been nearly perfected – they look nothing like the botox-looking Square Enix characters nor are they dead zombies in anything that Robert Zemeckis is a part of. It’s kind of like what was done on Avatar, except they’re humans, and is very nearly well done. The scenery and background characters are almost photo-realistic, and I’ve to give the WETA team props for that.

While the garnishing and ornaments will easily satisfy the younger viewers, I consider myself a more discerned critic. The plot was weak – it’s like sitting for a two and a half hour-long seminar of those Adam Cheng self-empowerment seminars, just slightly less annoying. I’m not sure if it’s Spielberg’s fault, but it was hard to actually give a damn about Tintin. Here’s a self-righteous, realist, optimist with literally knowledge on every single thing that it’s almost he has superpowers. He’s like Jimmy from Superman if he had Superman’s brain and courage. I must however, commend Daniel Craig for his impressive voice acting skills – didn’t realize he has such potential.

John Williams has quite clearly lost his mojo. The score was weak, coming from him.

Leave a Reply

