Circle West

No, it’s not a Monday, but I was waking up early for something just as, if not more important than work on this day, right at this moment – the Circle Line Discovery. The last time I got up this early on a Sunday was way back during my brief stint with SIM Canoe Polo. I’d remember waking up to a stomachache and texting Alvin without fail that I’d be late (I suspect he wrote that off as an excuse), and indeed, I thought it was just nerves back then as well. However, when I was greeted with a stomachache this morning, I realized it was just a “natural” reflex.

However, up until the last few years, it remained a distant second to my first love – aviation. The past few years has been charmingly exciting in the rail world (pun intended). From fast expanding subway networks of Beijing, Madrid and Shanghai, to high-speed rail in Northeast Asia and Spain. Closer to home, while the scale and expansion of Singapore’s rail network is certainly less impressive than say, Shenzhen, but the planned doubling of the city’s system has definitely helped narrow the disparity of my interest, and I’d dare say, overtake it somewhat.

This morning reminded me of the day when I unofficially went trainspotting in Shanghai. Before I embarked on my exploration with my fellow SSC forumers at Caldecott station, I had a simple yet hearty breakfast at Han’s at Thomson Plaza.

In terms of architecture, the western loop of the Circle Line pales in comparison to other stations along the network such as the award-winning Bras Basah station, Stadium station amongst others. The design mostly comprises of a generic greyscale box, and its monotony only measly distracted by either a bold colored wall or the “Art In Transit” artwork on one face of the lift shaft. Most unusually are seemingly “out-of-place” furnished concrete walls or pillars, which gives the station some much needed texture. Some notable exceptions include HarbourFront, whose design is an extension of the water-themed station in the station’s North East Line area. one-north’s design has skylights which transports natural daylight into the underground station deep below.

Let’s just cut to the chase for the pictures!

Caldecott

Botanic Gardens

Farrer Road

one-north

Kent Ridge

For more pictures, visit my other blog.

Leave a Reply

