ALEXIS Vol. 005 “You’re Welcome”

Have you heard?

ALEXIS is simply brilliant… for a local magazine.

Having been with ALEXIS for a little north of six months, I’ve been asking myself lately, “what’s brilliant?” I’m not a doubter, I’m just my own biggest critic. I’ve never been able to summoned the courage to believe I can do it, because all my life, I’ve never been able to do it. When I look back at my life, all I see is darkness – sorrow, unhappiness, betrayal, failure… with a flicker of light, warm but never enough to gravitate my life towards it.

“Team’s Notes” with a little help from Ruthe. 100 points to whoever can figure out what it truly means.

Colleagues are commenting that this is the best piece I’ve done so far, ever.

One thing I love about this job is that I’m still surprising myself. Originally, I thought the two below were some of the worst shoots of the issue but after some soul-searching and inspiration, I’ve managed to give them a text which has somehow, transformed them into IMHO, the best shoots of Vol. 005. There is a certain natural, organic flow and balance that exists between the picture and words that makes it tick. I love it!

Chuck is one of our photographer, and I think his pictures are brilliant. However unfortunately for him, all his amazingness is getting lost in the fact that whatever he does can be easily recreated with Apple’s camera apps such as Instagram. This will undoubtedly make people appreciate his works lesser, and I think it’s especially disappointing and hurting to see people tweet that the “pictures look like they were taken with Instagram”. He isn’t just a photographer, he’s a visionary – providing the narrative and layout in addition to taking photos, and that to me, is passion. While I think the pictures and the storyline he provided were great, I feel that I wasn’t able to capture his visions in words. As a writer, I’d much rather work as an original rather than be handed inspirations and ordered to recreate the impossible. It’s a slippery slide, and one I can’t conquer. Nevertheless, I was told he was less than impressed with my text.

I hear he was especially unhappy with my text in the shoot below. To be honest, I agree, not because I think it’s bad or anything, but because Andy and I had just ended when I was given this to write. It’s very hard for me to look at this without thinking about us.

So, get your copy of ALEXIS’s Vol. 005.

Leave a Reply

